The 2018 Academy of Country Music Awards: The Highlights — Plus, See The Complete List Of Winners Here!

Catherine Michelle

April 16, 2018


Image result for 2018 country music awards


It was an amazing night honoring the best in country music on Sunday (April 15) at the 2018 Academy of Country Music Awards held at the MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas.


The show was hosted by the timeless Reba McEntire, who started the show with a fiery opening monologue that called out the lack of female nominees. The evening was filled with talented artists, glamorous red-carpet looks, and amazing performances — including a memorable duet by Reba and her daughter-in-law Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood’s first on stage appearance since her face injuries, and a gathering of some of country’s biggest stars performing a powerful tribute to the victims of the Last Vegas Shooting last year at Route 91 Harvest Festival.


Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris and Thomas Rhett all took part in the heartfelt tribute, giving a beautiful performance that conveyed raw emotion and heart. Jason Aldean pointed out that this was the first time many of the stars reunited in the area since the shooting, with Luke Bryan eloquently stating:

“Music helps us remember what really matters in life.”


And in an evening which celebrated country music’s most outstanding, one star shone brighter than the rest: Miranda Lambert, who officially made history with the most wins ever. The 34-year-old won her 30th, 31st, and 32nd awards during the show, surpassing the previous title holder Brooks & Dunn (the duo has 29 wins). Congratulations, Miranda!


And now, for the complete list of the evening’s winners:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean – WINNER
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Image result for jason aldean

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert – WINNER
Reba McEntire
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Image result for miranda lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton – WINNER
Keith Urban
Chris Young

Image result for chris stapleton

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne – WINNER
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion – WINNER

Lauren Alaina – WINNER
Danielle Bradbery
Carly Pearce

Image result for lauren alaina

Kane Brown
Luke Combs
Devin Dawson
Russell Dickerson
Brett Young – WINNER

High Valley
Midland – WINNER
Runaway June

ALBUM OF THE YEAR [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]
Breaker – Little Big Town
Producer: Jay Joyce
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

California Sunrise – Jon Pardi
Producers: Bart Butler, Jon Pardi
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

From A Room Vol. 1 – Chris Stapleton – WINNER
Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Record Label: Mercury Records

Happy Endings – Old Dominion
Producer: Shane McAnally
Record Label: RCA

Life Changes – Thomas Rhett
Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett
Record Label: The Valory Music Co.

Single Record of the Year [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]
Better Man – Little Big Town
Producer: Jay Joyce
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

Body Like A Back Road – Sam Hunt – WINNER
Producer: Zach Crowell
Record Label: MCA Nashville

Broken Halos – Chris Stapleton
Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Record Label: Mercury Records

Drinkin’ Problem – Midland
Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
Record Label: Big Machine Records

I’ll Name The Dogs – Blake Shelton
Producer: Scott Hendricks
Record Label: Warner Bros.

SONG OF THE YEAR [Awarded to Songwriter(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)]
Body Like a Back Road – Sam Hunt
Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
Publishers: Universal Music Corp./Sam Hunt Publishing, Highly Combustible Music/I Love Pizza Music,/Songs of Southside Independent Music Publishing/Who Wants to Buy My Publishing/Atlas Music Publishing, Anderson Fork In The Road Music/Smackville Music/Smack Songs LLC, Smack Hits

Female – Keith Urban
Songwriters: Ross Copperman, Nicolle Galyon and Shane McAnally
Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music Inc./Rezolant Music/Plain Jane Songs, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp./A Girl Named Charlie (BMI), Smack Hits/Smack Songs LLC (GMR)

Tin Man – Miranda Lambert – WINNER
Songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert Jon Randall
Publishers: Sony/ATV Tree Publishing/Pink Dog Publishing (BMI), Beat Up Ford Publishing (BMI), BMG Platinum Songs (BMI)/SWMBMGBMI/Lonesome Vinyl Music

Whiskey And You – Chris Stapleton
Songwriters: Lee Thomas Miller, Chris Stapleton
Publishers: WB Music Corp./New Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp./New Sea Gayle Music (BMI)

Video of the Year [Awarded to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)]
Black – Dierks Bentley
Director: Wes Edwards
Producer: Max A. Butler

It Ain’t My Fault – Brothers Osborne – WINNER
Director: Wes Edwards, Ryan Silver
Producer: Tiffany Davies

Legends – Kelsea Ballerini
Director: Jeff Venable
Producer: Ben Skipworth

Marry Me – Thomas Rhett
Director: TK McKamy
Producer: Dan Atchison

We Should Be Friends – Miranda Lambert
Director: Trey Fanjoy
Producer: April Dace

Songwriter of the year*(Off Camera Award)
Rhett Akins – WINNER
Ashley Gorley
Hillary Lindsey
Shane McAnally
Josh Osborne

Vocal Event of the Year [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]
Craving You – Thomas Rhett Featuring Maren Morris
Producers: Julian Bunetta, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett
Record Label: The Valory Music Co.

Dear Hate – Maren Morris featuring Vince Gill
Producers: Brad Hill, Maren Morris
Record Label: Columbia Nashville

Funny (How Time Slips Away) – Glen Campbell And Willie Nelson
Producer: Carl Jackson
Record Label: Universal Music Enterprises

The Fighter – Keith Urban featuring Carrie Underwood – WINNER
Producers: Busbee, Keith Urban
Record Label: Capitol Nashville

What Ifs – Kane Brown Featuring Lauren Alaina
Producer: Dann Huff
Record Label: RCA Nashville